September 30 @ 1pm to 2.30pm ACST / 1.30pm to 3pm AEST / 11.30am to 1pm AWST

 

AUDIENCE: Case Managers and Co-ordinators of Commonwealth Home Support Programme (CHSP) and Home Care Package programs, Regional Assessment Service (RAS) and Aged Care Assessment Team (ACAT) Assessors and Care Planners
PRESENTER: Glen Sorensen from Age Communications
LOCATION: Online

Aged care practice sees clients as equal and active partners in the design and delivery of goal-oriented home support and home care.  But how, do we engage clients, their carers and families and bring them on board?  

 This one and a half hour on-line learning session explores how to use basic motivational interviewing techniques to engage clients in the co-design of client-set goals aimed at maximising independence.  The session will also build skills framing client goals in care plans so that they are focused on what the client wants to achieve or be different rather than just the tasks involved in getting there. 

About the presenter:  

Glen Sorensen is the Managing Director of Age Communications, the company he founded in 1988. He has worked for over 35 years in the aged care industry with all levels of government, home care and residential care providers and seniors themselves.

During his career, he has run numerous sessions for older people living in residential care or attending day centres. He regularly trains workers and volunteers on how to tap into older people’s creativity using storytelling, music and dance.

He is the editor of I’m No Chicken, the poems and stories of residents of an aged care facility In Sydney and is the author of two books, When I’m 64 and Options for the Ageing: The Complete Guide to the Support and Care of Older People.

To register online, please click the Eventbrite link below (charges apply) or download the PDF document, and email to enquiry@acia.asn.au.